What is MicroLite?

A while ago, I started a small project which needed to access an Sql database. Since the project was quite small I didn’t want to go with the overhead of implementing a fully fledged ORM framework. Looking for alternatives, I came across ‘micro ORM’ frameworks. PetaPoco and Massive were the two I played about with and found that there were things I wanted to do which were difficult to achieve with either. As a result I decided to write my own and made it open source.

MicroLite was conceived with a number of principles in mind.

  • It should be simple to configure.
  • Code using it should be easily testable in isolated unit tests.
  • It should not use any external dependencies outside the .net base class libraries.
  • It should be extensible, allowing users to choose how it interacts with other frameworks (for example logging).
  • You shouldn’t have to inherit from any MicroLite classes or implement any MicroLite interfaces for your data entities.
  • It should be simple to map classes to tables without having complicated and hard to maintain XML documents.

It has been inspired by various other frameworks that I have used in the past. Having used NHibernate for a number of years, I wanted to create something that was similar so that it was easy to move between the two. Let’s be clear though, MicroLite is not a cut down implementation of NHibernate. It does not use any of the NHibernate codebase, rather it uses some similar concepts and interface names (e.g. ISession).

You can find the repository on GitHub where you can also find the Wiki and Issues log.

Over the next few weeks I will be publishing more blog posts showing some of the features and things I am working on.

One thought on “What is MicroLite?

  1. dcsteele

    Really like the Examples you’ve started to put into the CHM Help ! It’s now going from Documentation (very necessary) to true Help – I feel I can use new features ‘out of the box’ whereas before I would have to wait for the wiki, or figure it out myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

